leaderiship and committees

Our members are the lifeblood of the club. To get in touch, please send an email to info@bassriveryachtclub.org. Members may log in to access contact information in the directory.


Flag officers

Matthew P. Fitzsimmons, Commodore

Erick Cooper, Vice Commodore

Mark E. Ahern, Rear Commodore

James F. Leighton, Treasurer

board of governors

2018–2021: Edward Callahan, Barry Gaughran, Julian Mallet

2019–2022: Douglas Goodnow, Brendan Kiley, Robert Lewis

2020–2023: Francois Buisson, Robert Harrison, Liisa Pendleton


Many of the club functions and activities are carried out by our dedicated committees. We will update below with descriptions and committee chairs. Members can find announcements from committees in the member area.

social committee

The social committee organizes exciting year-round events for our club community.


The waterways committee maintains our important club infrastructure that ensures safe access to Bass River.

House and grounds

The house and grounds committee manages the maintenance of the club house and grounds.

Sailing School

The Bass River Sailing School operates as a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization.


Mark E. Ahern, President

Joseph Whittaker, Treasurer

board of directors

Matthew Fitzsimmons
Erick Cooper
Benjamin Blum
Nicholette Catalano
Trent Lloyd
Julian Mallet